Posted by: janecronin | July 11, 2011

A new meaning to the word “pollo”


No I haven’t reneged on my vegetarianism – I’ve just found, or perhaps just noticed, a new meaning of the word “pollo”.  Sorry about this, but it means a lump of spittle.  I only mention this because it was used the other day in the same context in which we would say in English “I’ve got a frog in my throat” – “tengo un pollo” . 

According to my dictionary, this use of “pollo” is vulgar, but I heard it on Spanish national radio!   I don’t know what the world’s coming to.

Responses

  1. And her´s me thinking ´pollo´ meant chicken!


Leave a Reply

Categories

