Posted by: janecronin | July 23, 2011

Spanish/English pronunciation – impossible word?


Well, I consider my Spanish to be pretty good these days, and I think I can tackle saying most words without too much trauma.  However, I have to admit to struggling with a word that is written on the side of a van (quite a long van I have to say) which often parks near my house.  This is it: IMPERMEABILIZACIÓN.

It means “water-proofing”, and yes, there are times when English is definitely easier than Spanish.  If you’re stuck for something to do for the next few hours, try learning to say it – firstly reading slowly, then speeding up, then memorizing and finally, rattling it off like a native.  Who knows when you might actually need to say it!

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

