Posted by: janecronin | July 30, 2011

Spanish sayings – a caged cat


I’ve just come across a saying which is the Spanish equivalent of “there’s something fishy going on here” which is “Aquí hay gato encerrado” (literally translated – “There’s a locked up cat here” or “Here’s a caged cat” …)

Well, “There’s something fishy …” makes sense if you think about a suspicious smell, but then why is it that we “let the cat out of the bag”?

That thought leads to me find out the Spanish equivalent of “let the cat out of the bag” and it turns out to be “descubrir el pastel” – “to uncover the cake”.  I am now officially confused.

 

Responses

  1. So confused was I that I omitted one final link to this trail of metaphorical non-sequiturs …

    “Pastel”, as well as cake can also mean “gateau” and more than one person of my acquaintance have tried ordering “gato” in a Spanish bakery, much to the consternation of the baker.

    I even have a drawing to illustrate this which I will now attempt to upload…. mmm please talk amongst yourselves for a week or two ….

  2. We are really enjoying your emls with Spanish sayings, might save us from one day “putting our foot in it”, how do you say that in Spanish I wonder? Many thanks Frances and Peter

  3. Funny you should ask that … “meter la pata”. There is a whole chapter on it on my newly released e-book “Going Native”. Watch this space !!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

