Posted by: janecronin | March 31, 2012

Romantic songs


One thing that just doesn’t translate very well from Spanish to English is song lyrics, especially romantic ones.  My ex-husband always used to say that English is the language of facts and Spanish is the language of feelings, and I think there may be some truth in that. Either that or we’re less romantic, or less direct in how we express ourselves.   There was a song that was extremely popular a few years ago which contained the words: Saliva de mis labios, salada y transparente como tu…  For a while I used it in my classes but I got tired of telling people that “Saliva of my lips, salty and transparent like you …”  actually sounds okay in Spanish.

Here’s a line that I was listening to the other day which I like very much  “Haremos locuras nuevas con el amor que nos sobre”  “We will do new crazy things with the love we have left over”.  Well, it doesn’t have quite the same ring in English, and you have to listen to the rest of the song, (Que no se rompa la noche) but I think it’s rather romantic!!

Responses

  1. It must be Spring, Jane, your turning to ‘romantic songs.

    As for ‘Que no se rompa la noche’, it does not turn me on, or perhaps I just do not get the intended translation.

    I much prefer ‘Strangers in the night’, especially when rendered by Frank Sinatra in his heyday. But then, what would you expect from a red blooded englishman ? Happy April 1st !

  2. Oh yes, spring is in the air! Unfortunately I’ve always hated (not personally) Frank Sinatra. However, he did sing Strangers in the Night in Spanish apparently. Here’s how it starts:

    EXTRAÑOS EN LA NOCHE INTERCAMBIANDO MIRADAS
    PREGUNTÁNDONOS EN LA NOCHE
    CUALES ERAN LAS POSIBILIDADES DE QUE ESTUVIÉRAMOS
    COMPARTIENDO EL AMOR ANTES QUE LA NOCHE SE ACABARA

    I think in this case the English would sound better!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

