Posted by: janecronin | March 26, 2013

Small but important differences!


I felt very silly the other day.  I don’t know whether you tackle Telefónica and similar companies very often by phone.  I actually try to avoid doing so as much as possible, but one of the things that happens when you do is that the operator asks you for your first name so that he or she can address you properly.  They then continue the conversation by calling me: “Doña Jane” as in: “Doña Jane, have you tried switching off your modem and switching it on again” etc.  Well, the other day I was actually in the UK phoning an English telephone company on behalf of my mother, something I’m now a lot less used to doing.  When the young lad asked me my name, I just said “Jane”.  He then repeated the question a little more slowly – “Could you give me the name of the account holder please?”   He must have thought I was a right idiot.

Responses

  1. I would suggest that if you were talking to a young guy in customer services for a UK telecom company HE was the right idiot…..many years of working with them allows me to say that!


Leave a Reply

Categories

